Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Parish was established in 1950 with Reverend Timothy Crean as the first pastor. Created from portions of five other parishes, property for a parish plant was located and permits for a temporarychurch and four classrooms were granted in 1951.
The first unit of Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School was completed in 1952. September brought the opening of the school with grades 1-4 and an enrollment of 168 students. The order of the Sisters of the Holy Child Jesus provided teachers for the school. Four more classrooms were added by September 1953, bringing enrollment to 280. By 1955 there were grades 1-8 with a total of twelve classrooms and 441 students. The cafetorium was built and was used for extra classrooms as needed. A permanent church, convent, and rectory were added in the 1960s. In the early 60’s the school reached its highest enrollment with 600 students. A full-day kindergarten was added in 1990.
We educate our students in a nurturing environment, rooted in Gospel values and Catholic traditions, where each child is recognized, respected, and cherished as a child of God. In partnership with the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Community, we guide our students to grow in love, understanding, and practice of their Catholic faith, to realize their individual academic potential, and to be responsible citizens who are Christ-like in their service to others.
In partnership with parents and the parish community, Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School provides a quality Catholic education that lays the foundation for a life-long commitment of service and participation in our faith and an academically enriched experience that prepares students for the challenges of the future.
Mrs. Joanne Testacross
2660 E. Orange Grove Blvd