The parish church, Holy Family Church, was established in 1930 with very humble beginnings. It was originally located at the corner of Corby Avenue and 188thStreet. In 1943, Holy Family welcomed its fourth pastor, Fr. Patrick O’Connor. Within months of his arrival, he initiated plans to expand the parish facilities and in 1945, he was granted permission by the Archdiocese to purchase a 4-1/2 acre site at what was then, 17th and Vine Street (today 187th and Clarkdale Avenue). This area would serve as the home of a parish plant to include a new church, a convent and school, a church rectory and additional office space.
The Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary were invited to run and staff the school. And as they had before, parishioners rallied behind the plans, particularly members of the Our Lady of Fatima Society. Led by Mrs. Joe (Adeline) Fernandes, Sr., they set out on a door to door campaign, collecting donations (over $50,000.00) to ensure the construction of the new educational facility.
Three years later, on August 22, 1948, the Most Reverend Joseph T. McGucken, Auxiliary Bishop of Los Angeles, officiated at the dedication of a new elementary school, and three weeks later, on September 13, 1948, Our Lady of Fatima School opened. The school was named in honor of our Blessed Mother who appeared in Fatima, Portugal. The school’s name, different from the parish name, was chosen to honor the hard work and generosity of local Portuguese and Dutch parishioners who made this school a reality. At the time, OLF held the unique distinction of being one of the few Catholic schools not named after its home parish, and the only school in the United States named after Our Lady of Fatima.
Mr. Juan Nagore
18626 S. Clarkdale Ave.